Aberdeenshire Architecture and Landscape Awards open for applications


Aberdeenshire’s best architectural and landscape design competition opened in 2023.

The Portsoy Sail Loft has already won the awards.

Open to all communities, businesses, agents and owners, winners of the Aberdeenshire Architectural and Landscape Design Awards 2023 could come from all walks of life.

The competition, now in its 13th year, will award prizes for outstanding design achievement in the categories of commercial and community enterprises, building conservation and adaptation, innovative design of single-family homes (including extensions), landscape design and biodiversity and building communities for the future.

Paul Macari, Head of Planning and Economics, said: “It’s the most exciting part of the process, seeing the innovative projects submitted and having the opportunity to be amazed by the range ongoing projects in the North East of Scotland.

“I encourage everyone, be it owners, developers, students, or designers, to look at the categories.”

Projects eligible for the awards include extensions, single-family homes, commercial properties, landscaping plans, regeneration projects and the creation of new communities.

Submissions will be open until Friday, December 23, 2022.

The first phase of judgment will take place in March 2023, before a new judgment in July 2023.

The winners will be announced at a grand final ceremony in Aberdeenshire on October 5, 2023.

The awards were originally created in 1997 with the aim of raising the profile of good innovative design.

The Faithlie Center in Fraserburgh has already won the awards.
The Faithlie Center in Fraserburgh has already won the awards.

Organized every two years, the awards constitute a benchmark for the quality of recent developments and the effectiveness of development policies.

It also seeks to inspire excellence and innovation in architecture and landscaping across Aberdeenshire.

The judging panel will include the chairman and deputy chairman of Aberdeenshire Council’s Infrastructure Services Committee, four external professional advisers and the winner of last year’s student prize.

There are three levels of awards: Distinction, Highly Commended and Congratulations, as well as the Ian Shepherd Award given to the entry considered to be the best of all those submitted.

Mr Macari said: “I’m sure there’s something for everyone in there.”

To submit an entry for the Design Awards, please click here to read the category descriptions.

Do you want to react to this article ? If yes, click here to submit your thoughts and they may be published in print.


Comments are closed.